Ping. Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1.

24 May 2007

This morning I received a gentle but welcome nudge from fellow concurrency author Michael Suess in the form of a flattering pingback from his blog, Thinking Parallel. I had actually stumbled on and subscribed to his blog back in January 2007 when I first began thinking of writing a book. I’ve been a avid reader ever since. As Michael points out, it’s a relatively small community of blogs dealing with concurrency and parallelism from a software developer’s point of view.

His pingback subtly reminded me that I have committed one of few cardinal sins of blogging: don’t develop an audience and then suddenly go dark. Excusably or not, life outside the blogosphere simply took a front seat this past month. Between having an LCD failure on my portable writer’s garrett (an IBM Lenovo X60 Tablet) that took two and a half weeks to resolve and then relocating back to Manhattan after four years of exile in Connecticut, the blog suddently became like a tollbooth attendant with a new haircut — it simply survived unnoticed.

As Mark Twain said, “The reports of my death are greatly exaggerated.” The book is moving along, Lab49 is humming, and my passion for bringing distributed computing to the masses remains undaunted. Stay tuned until next week after I’ve settled into my new digs in the East Village/Lower East Side. In the meantime, check out all the blogs on Michael’s post. I’m a subscriber to them all.

Well, not the Microsoft bashing one.

Leave a Reply

